Second Degree BSN Students Receive Georgetown Nursing Pin

DECEMBER 20, 2015 – The School of Nursing & Health Studies celebrated 23 students who completed the Accelerated Second Degree Bachelor of Science in Nursing Program this December at a ceremony yesterday.

At the event, the students received their special Georgetown nursing pins.

Patricia Cloonan, PhD, RN, interim dean of the School of Nursing & Health Studies, and Edilma Yearwood, PhD, RN, PMHCNS-BC, FAAN, interim chair of the Department of Nursing, welcomed the audience gathered in the Leavey Center.

Nursing Pins

BSN alumna Jean Nelson Farley (NHS’72), MSN, RN, assistant professor of nursing, spoke about the history of Georgetown’s nursing pin and reminded the students of the responsibility that comes with wearing it.

“Your acceptance of the nursing pin today signifies your right and privilege to practice professional nursing, grounded in Georgetown’s Jesuit tradition of ‘men and women for others,’” she said.

She noted that the pin should also remind the students that they are highly educated critical thinkers, scientists, and strategists.

Student Excellence

Chris Flannagan (NHS’15) delivered the student address and thanked his professors, classmates, and family. He highlighted his cohort’s camaraderie. 

“Our collaborative nature will be a critical element as we become professional nurses,” he said. “As the medical model has moved away from a top-down hierarchy to one where the doctors, nurses, and patients decide together about the best plan of care, nurses become even more important to the decision making process. Through this collaboration, we will form even stronger bonds with our patients, increase our empathy, and become better advocates of their needs.”

Sarah B. Vittone, MSN, MA, RN, president of the Tau Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau, the international honor society of nursing, inducted 10 new members into the organization and distributed the chapter’s awards for scholarly project and clinical excellence.

The former went to Paige Givner (NHS’15) and Abigail Grahek (NHS’15) for their project, “Nursing Best Practices for Managing Breakthrough Cancer Pain in the Pediatric Patient.” And the latter went to Brendan Lindsey (NHS’15).

Related Content

Department of Nursing

BSN Program

Event Photos - Risdon Photography